Dinner Dance – Feb 25th 2023

Four Masters Gaa

Dinner Dance

Sat 25th Feb 2023

It’s been a while, but it was back with a bang last night! The Four Masters Dinner Dance, the highlight of the year so far, was held in Harvey’s Point Hotel. There was a huge crowd in attendance and a great atmosphere. We were delighted to welcome our Guests of Honour, Ulster President Ciarán McLaughlin and President of the LGFA Councillor Mícheál Naughton. MC for the night Rory O’Donnell kept the crowd entertained, all evening and kept people in their seats for fear of getting a jibe if he saw anyone move! Kicking off the event Ulster President Ciarán McLaughlin spoke of the value of a club having people behind it to drive it forward and was very impressed with the people who he met on the night, all full of enthusiasm, energy a willingness to progress the club and build on the underage success over the last year. Ciarán talked about the importance of unity and the One club model which we have been implementing since last year, one club for all our members, he also spoke about the importance of inclusion and the initiatives that we have, to encourage everyone in the community to get involved in the club in some way or another.

Ciarán McLaughlin – President of Ulster GAA

Next Wendy McCarry from the Bluestack Special Needs Foundation spoke of their delight at being involved with the club and what it has meant to the children who attend the Bluestack Special Needs Foundation to be able to come and join in training session with the Four Masters. There are exciting times ahead for the Bluestack with their involvement in the new clubhouse development which will include facilities that are accessible for the children from the Bluestack Foundation. Wendy has a special award for one of our Minor players, Terence McGovern who volunteers at the centre after school and at weekends.

Having not had an event like this is a long time there were a lot of awards of appreciation to be presented. Club Person of the Year, as voted for by all club members, went to a well deserving Damien Dunnion, who was left speechless, as he accepted the accolade. There were special appreciation awards for members who have give a lot service to the club over the last 20 years or so, namely Tom Conaghan, Dr. Austin Kelly, Mary Canavan for her work with Ladies football over the years and our grounds staff Robert Duncan, Gerry Molloy, Cathal McGonalge and Frank O’Donnell. There was also an appreciation award for a current member of the executive, Conor Gillespie for all his hard work in fundraising for the new clubhouse development.

Our Minor Team were in attendance on the night. After a very successfully year in 2022 they were still busy playing Ulster championship football in December and so their award presentations were delayed. The awards on the night went to; David Monaghan (Player of the year), Fiachra O’Donnell (Most Improved Player) and Conor Meehan (Most dedicated Player).






Our Senior men’s, Senior ladies and Senior hurling teams were all represented on the night, as well as U21’s, Junior and Reserve Football teams.

U21 Footballer of the year was Richard O’Rourke, with John Bell picking up the U21 ‘Young’ Player of the year while the Junior men’s footballer of the year award went to James McMullin.






Evan Gallagher presented the Charlie Gallagher Memorial/Reserve player of the year award to Ross O’Keeney, and the Reserve team ‘Young’ Footballer of the year award went to James McHugh,






Barry Dunnion presented the Donna Boyle Memorial/Ladies Senior player of the year award to Eilish Meehan, while Mícheál Naughton presented the Ladies most improved footballer of the year award to Emma Meehan.








Our hurling awards were presented by Ulster president Ciarán McLaughlin, Paul Patton was awarded the Liam Mullin Memorial Senior Hurling Player of the Year and the most improved player award went to Dylan Thomas.







Senior Manager Kevin Sinclair presented the Senior men’s ‘young’ player of the year award to Seanan Quinn, and the ‘Player’s’ player of the year to Brian Fegan.








Barry Monaghan then presented the Donal Monaghan Senior Men’s Player of the year award to a well deserving Oisin Reid.

By fourmasterspro Mon 27th Feb